Action Teams

Thrive Action Teams are key to the advancement of its mission – to ensure that all children in the Sioux Falls area have the resources they need to achieve their highest academic and career potential.

A-Teams use a collective impact approach to address complex obstacles to student success, focusing on creating systemic change in the conditions surrounding the educational system.

Success is achieved when an outcome or goal has been attained, with the result that either the cause of the obstacle is eliminated or that programs, policies, funding streams, and/or services are permanently altered, reducing the impact of the problem on a continuing basis.

A-Teams are comprised of individuals who

  • represent a cross-sector of the business, government, nonprofit and faith-based communities.
  • have knowledge and experience to contribute to the ecosystem issue being addressed.
  • are willing to make a commitment to participate regularly in A-Team activities.

 Housing Action Team Members




Amy Carter, Children’s Home Foundation/Children’s Inn
Tammie Denning, Inter-Lakes Community Action Partnership, Inc./Heartland House
Sheri Ekdom, Lutheran Social Services of South Dakota
Yesenia Gonzalez, Sioux Empire Housing Partnership
Mike Huber, Community Stakeholder
Richie Hutchinson, Community Stakeholder
Roger Jacobs, Housing and Urban Development
Liz Larkin, Community Stakeholder
Anny Libengood, Minnehaha County
Ashley Lipp, Lloyd Companies 
Amy Miller, Charisma Properties
Gayleen Riedemann, Riedemann Properties
Nate Rygh, The Community Outreach
Betsy Schuster, Helpline Center
Chellee Unruh, City of Sioux Falls

 Out-of-School Time Action Team Members




Stephanie Bents, Siouxland Libraries
Becky Deelstra, Volunteers of America, Dakotas
Allison Green, South Dakota Department of Labor and Regulation
John Hegg, Community Stakeholder
Karla Johnson, South Dakota Afterschool Network
Rebecca Kiesow-Knudsen, Lutheran Social Services of South Dakota
Jodi Miller, Kids Inc.
Michelle Moller, DSS Child Protective Services
Phil Olson, South Dakota Youth Foundation
Kim Overby, Sanford Health
Kassidi Smith, KIDSTOP/First United Methodist Church
Sky Smothers, Sioux Falls Parks and Recreation
Charles Toomajian, Community Stakeholder
Rebecca Wimmer, Boys & Girls Clubs of the Sioux Empire


 Food Security Action Team Members




Jennifer Folliard, SDSU Extension
Taylor Funke, Helpline Center 
Joel Gackle, Community Stakeholder 
Matt Gassen, Feeding South Dakota 
Alyssa Gehle, City of Sioux Falls Health Department
Josh Hayes, Faith Temple Food Giveaway
Meg Hentges, South Dakota Public Broadcasting
Tom Holmes, Community Stakeholder
Karen Lundquist, EmBe
Sandra Melstad, SML Consulting 
Lori Montis, Minnehaha County Human Services 
Stephanie Peterson, Fruit of the Coop
Tami Prostrollo, Nightwatch Food Truck Ministry
Allison Struck, Sioux Falls Public Schools Education Foundation